The Monastery of St. Nicholas is assumed to be founded on the place of an older abbey, existed in the Middle Ages. The complex is located on a picturesque terrace at the foot of a mountain ridge on which is situated an ancient fortress.
The monastery consists of a church with a separate bell tower and a residential building. The church is consecrated in 1911 by the Sofia Metropolitan Parteniy. It was built in the tradition of Bulgarian Revival church architecture – one nave ending with apse. Altar niche, however, is much wider comparing to traditional Renaissance churches and vestibule is designed simply, closely and with gable roof. In 2011, master-ceramist Lyudmila Doichinova donated to the church a Patron icon of St. Nicholas, which now adorns the facade of the building.
The monastery building was built in 1913. On its southern facade stays inscription which says: "During the time of His Beatitude Exarch Joseph I of Bulgarians and His Eminence Metropolitan Sofia Parteniy with handouts of devout Christians, by the powerful hand of a priest Emmanuel Zlatkov was built this inn, June 3, 1913 ". Interesting fact is that since its establishment, this building was designed for "inn", not for monastery cloister.
The building has two floors built again in the traditions of Bulgarian Renaissance architecture. The second floor is surrounded by a spacious wooden porch. At the first floor are situated offices and a large dining room with kitchen. The two western rooms are named after the Prime Minister of Bulgaria Alexander Stamboliyski - "the rooms of Stamboliyski". He used these rooms in the summer of 1920 and was a close friend of the priest Immanuel.
In 1996-1997 in the courtyard is built a stone fountain, funds for which were raised entirely by donations.
The monastery even now possesses the charm and the spirit of the post-liberation Bulgarian society. The monastery building, which was established as an "Inn", continues to be used as a small hotel. Here to visitors can enjoy to the beautiful nature together with a sacred Christian place and the hospitality of the local priest who hosts the monastery.
Monastery of St. Nicholas, Batulya
DD 42.8992694 23.429255555555557
DMS N 42° 53' 57.37'' E 23° 25' 45.32''
Distance: 4,44 км
Maximum slope: 42,8%, -35,3%
Altitude: 497, 541, 622 м
GPS track: Rebrovo - Monastery of St. Nicholas, Batulya
See the hiking trail Rebrovo - rest house "Bukovets" - rest house "Leskova"
The monastery is possible to reach by car following the deviation from the main road E16 (Sofia - Svoge) to the village of Batulya. At the eastern part of the village an information board "Batuliyski monastery" points direction.
Access to the monastery is possible also on food. From Sofia to Rebrovo travels comfortable train. From Rebrovo the visitor should follow the direction of the main road E16 and the deviation to the village of Batulya. From here the route goes along the right bank of the river Batuliyska with panoramic views and very slight slope. Its length is less than 3 km and in the village are many restaurants and cafes suitable for a short break before the climb to the monastery.
The road to the monastery, which begins immediately after the village, is covered with gravel and wide. There is only one branch where you have to take left. The slope is quite large, but the road is not long and ends in the courtyard of the monastery "St. Nicholas."